Godly Anger

From: Teaching Article Anger Management by A. Wommack

Think of this: Every person on the planet has a temper. Why do you think that is? Do you think the devil created anger? No way! Satan never created anything. He doesn’t have the power to create. All he does is pervert the godly things God created.

It’s God who gave us the capacity to get angry. Anger has a godly function. But with most of us, it’s been perverted. We don’t need to get delivered of a temper; we need to learn how to manage that anger and direct it the way God intended — not toward people, but toward the devil and evil.

There is a well-known passage of Scripture that talks about a positive use of anger. Yet this passage is most often interpreted in a way that loses the true intent of what Paul was saying. Ephesians 4:26-27 says,

“Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath: Neither give place to the devil”.

This is usually interpreted as, “God knows you are only human, and you will sometimes get angry. That just happens. But it doesn’t become sin unless you let it persist. So make sure you confess and forsake your anger every night before you go to bed.”

There is no doubt that getting over anger quickly has great benefit. Confessing and forsaking anger before you go to bed every night is a good thing to do. But that is not what this verse is teaching. It’s nearly the opposite.

Paul is saying there is a godly anger that is not sin. God gives us a command to get angry with a righteous anger. Then he says, “Let not the sun go down on your wrath”. What happens when the sun goes down? Typically we stop working. The day winds down, and we rest and go to sleep. Paul is saying, “Don’t let this godly anger ever stop working. Keep it awake. Stir it up and keep it active!” Then verse 27 continues, “Neither give place to the devil”. If we don’t keep a godly anger active within us, we are giving place to the devil. What a revelation!

There is a righteous use of anger. Not understanding this has rendered many Christians so passive, they don’t get mad at the evil in this world. Therefore, Satan is having a free shot at everything we hold dear and holy. Our society is under attack, and our righteous anger that God has given us as a weapon is kept in its sheath and not used. This needs to change.

Look at what the Word of God has to say about a right use of anger:

“Ye that love the LORD, hate evil”. (Psalm 97:10)

“The fear of the LORD [is] to hate evil: pride, and arrogancy, and the evil way, and the froward mouth, do I hate”. (Prov. 8:13)

“The fear of the LORD [is] the beginning of wisdom”. (Psalm 111:10)

“The fear of the LORD [is] the beginning of knowledge”. (Prov. 1:7)

“Let love be without dissimulation. Abhor that which is evil; cleave to that which is good”. (Rom. 12:9)

These are just a few of the scriptures that speak of a righteous use of hate and anger. Look again at Proverbs 8:13: “Pride and arrogancy, and the evil way, and the froward [literally, perverse] mouth, do I hate”. Do we really hate those things? We should, but Christians as a whole do not hate evil. We don’t like evil, but few would argue that we literally hate these things. Some Christians don’t believe that we are supposed to hate anything, but that’s not what God’s Word says.

Jesus was sinless, but He had hate and anger. In John 2:14-17, which took place at the beginning of Jesus’ earthly ministry, and then in Mark 11:15-17, which took place the last week of Jesus’ earthly ministry, Jesus drove the money changers out of the temple. He didn’t approach them meekly and say, “Guys, I’m sorry. I don’t want to hurt any of you, but I have to do this to obey my Father.” NO! He made a whip and beat the people and animals and turned over their tables. He was mad.

Where were the temple guards? I’m sure they were there, but Jesus was in a holy rage that paralyzed them from action. It’s certain that Jesus never sinned, but it’s also certain that He got very angry to the point of action. Therefore, there is a righteous anger. We need to discover the righteous use of anger and channel all of our aggression in the proper way. So, there is a right place for anger. But what about the wrong use of anger? All of us have to deal with getting mad at people. How do we overcome our unforgiveness and anger toward people?

38 thoughts on “Godly Anger”

  1. Ah… Andrew wammack. Ew Kenyon, Kenneth hagin and Ken Copeland wanna be. Word of faith “creating reality with your tongue” Andrew wommack. I thought he had died?

    1. Hi Kia,
      Well, whether or not we believe in “word of faith,” our words are creative and carry the power within them to create life and death in our circumstances/daily lives.

      No, Andrew Wommack is alive and well. Still a great teacher of the word.
      His son had died, but was raised from the dead. That’s one example of being aware of the power of your words and knowing what to say and what not to say when the situation arises.
      Every soldier is trained before he’s sent into battle no?

      A good and dry weekend to you.

    2. Hi Kia,
      I left a response to x-P’s comment yesterday. Just letting you know and I’ll let you decide whether to publish it. Thank you.

      1. yes, I don’t think the filter issue has resolved… and that’s okay for me — I’ve tried to stay away from commenting.
        I could not in good conscience though read and ignore what was said by x-P.

        Thanks for retrieving it

  2. This Andrew wommack?

    desiree  3 years ago

    My name is Desiree (wommack) I was married to Andrew’s son Jonathan Peter Wommack for 3 years. Andrew Wommack, Jamie Wommack are charlatans of the Christian faith. I was emotionally, mentally and physically abused while being married into that family, by Andrew, Jamie and their sons. Jonathan ( Peter) was not raised from the dead, his heart stopped after a sever heroine overdose, the doctors and nurses saved his life, he was placed in a private room awaiting is parents arrival, his heart did stop, but he was not the Lazarus his family insist on proclaiming.

    I suffer from Bi-Polar disorder and was constantly told that it was not real… that medication wasn’t needed, that my faith in God wasn’t strong enough however, when their son beat me, it was because I was crazy! Uneducated fools. They have no understanding of any illness nor of God’s will.

    Jamie Wommack told me ” Sometimes you just have to zip it ” after I begged her for help as her son would brutally beat me. So many bruises and scars she witnessed herself. She also said on an airline back from the Florida ” I am so proud of Peter even more so that he doesn’t punch on you anymore”. I never told her such a thing as her son was quite found of beating on me. The final time I saw that woman she perjured herself in court to defend her son as he was carted off to jail for beating me so severely that I still have a 4 inch scar on the left side of my face from him biting my face.

    Jonathan ( Peter) fathered a child out wedlock and the Wommacks exalt her higher then the Lord they claim to worship. These people are pure evil. Andrews teachings are heretical to true believers in the Word of Christ. They are happy to pretend that they provide sanctuary and have named a large portion of land in Colorado as such, yet when the daughter in law they had, the sister in Christ that was being beaten BY THEIR OWN SON for the simple act of demanding respect as a woman, as a human. No sanctuary is provided. Jamie Wommack actually transported my naked and bloodied body to her home to “clean up, we don’t want this known” and told me that my marriage was over. She had to speak for her cowardly son that she raised. They hoped I would be silent. I never will be. I have made sure that any and all people that know of, choose to follow, or write about ( good or bad) the Wommack’s hear the truth. They condone rape, spousal abuse and premarital sex, drug use and unwed parenting… all that are directly against God’s law.

    Andrews teaching are and will destroy peoples lives. Ask me anything in regards to that family. I am more then happy to answer anyone’s questions about their teachings, hypocrisies, lies, beliefs. Ask me!!! Ask Jamie or Andrew to respond to my claims. I have nothing to hide. I want the truth to be known about this hideous man and his family

    1. Ahhh Mike, you certainly do not disappoint. To the gutter you went to seek information.

      You can also call the hospital to verify the story you know…. which do you think is more credible.

      1. Oh really?… who is the one running with unverified information from the internet by someone who was not present at the time of the incident.

        I have no interest in discussing this lady’s credibility, character etc.

        You have chosen to believe her account without knowing how she came by her information. That’s your business… it’s not for me to convince you otherwise.

        If you wish to discuss Godly anger, great… but I have no desire in discussing other people’s family problems.
        Go to the source if you’re truly skeptical and desire to know the truth.

      2. only because I did post-graduate studies as well…. but yeah, I’ve spent way too much time in school.

      3. I know where I’m coming from… I know what’s been granted to me via multiple channels… I’m grateful to God. Only He could have brought me here and beyond; trust me on this.

      4. So, can you tell me why you’re so angry with Jesus and Christians. And don’t say you aren’t… because you’re always spoiling for a fight – and I know you cannot fight

    1. Haha… I was actually going to use this as a response to your post on Love:-patience; which is why I highlighted in agreement with you that we’re not to get angry at each other but at the works of the devil.

      Well, we grow in discernment and the only way to do that is to not be afraid of failing… we may get it wrong but the important thing is to keep going until we’re perfected.

      1. Exactly!
        Which was my reason for posting this particular topic.
        I want believers to know there is a reason for Godly anger and to not be condemned into thinking they must turn the other cheek and sit by and do nothing.

        They want to bring it… they should be able to take it.

Share your thoughts

