Why Was It Written?

Barry Bennett

How much importance do we place on the written Word of God? How important was it to God to have His Word written? I typed the words ‘written’ and ‘write’ into my Bible program search feature, and was overwhelmed with the number of references to that which has been ‘written.’

Many times the Lord commands that His words be written for future generations.

Then the LORD answered me and said: "Write the vision And make it plain on tablets, That he may run who reads it. (Hab. 2:2)

Paul declared that his own writings were the Word of God.

If anyone thinks himself to be a prophet or spiritual, let him acknowledge that the things which I write to you are the commandments of the Lord. (1Cor. 14:37)

The gospels were written so that we might believe in Jesus. There is no hint that they are untrustworthy or have an expiration date.

And truly Jesus did many other signs in the presence of His disciples, which are not written in this book; but these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that believing you may have life in His name. (Jn. 20:30-31)

The Old Testament (which is referenced and quoted hundreds of times in the New) was written for our learning that we might have hope

For whatever things were written before were written for our learning, that we through the patience and comfort of the Scriptures might have hope. (Rom. 15:4)

These are just a few brief examples that only touch the surface of the importance of believing in and adhering to that which was written. If Jesus based His life and ministry upon that which was written, I believe that we can have the same confidence that we are not dealing with a fallible, manmade document, but with God’s living Word.

“…have you not read what was spoken to you by God?” (Mt. 22:31)

23 thoughts on “Why Was It Written?”

    1. I agree, and as Barry says it’s to build our confidence and trust in the written word.

      You can see it’s a daily battle on just this one medium (internet: blogs) standing against those who love darkness and will bring up any form of deception against the word – both the written word and the Living Word (Jesus).

      1. It’s getting worse my brother.
        Before I even read your second sentence, I was already agreeing and thinking the assault is becoming more constant and intense.
        It was surreal to see you had actually used the same two words in your description.

      2. I gotta say…I admire the fact that you take it to them. I have…and regretted it. Heck, they come to me often enough. But kudos to you for carrying it to them.

      3. ahaha…
        Yeah, you see their strategy… to write for the lurkers…those on the fence etc.
        To be relentless in their onslaught…projecting the idea that because you refuse to answer their nonsense that it’s because you don’t know. Well duh- as I said to one, there’s no right answer to a wrong question.

        I do not respond at ark’s place b/c of his foul mouth… They’re only interested in winning an argument anyway.

        Another thing is, I don’t get offended when they try to insult me – just think of who is doing the insulting… why would anyone care what these people (who haven’t demonstrated sound judgment… plus the blasphemous ways in which they refer to the Creator) have to say about them.

        As James also noted, notice when you ask a question, the majority of the time they never answer. It’s actually the quickest way to shut down any discussion with them.

      4. Well, the relentlessness betrays their agenda. I don’t know if you have noted it, but they clearly plan and come up with ideas how to so frustrate Christian bloggers that they will quite. Then, they gloat when they do.

      5. That’s it exactly!
        I was thinking of Proverbs and what it says regarding responding to a fool.
        It’s damned if you do and damned if you don’t.
        So we take our pick 🙂 lol

        On the bright side – the fool is still a fool 🙂

      6. Yeah, it’s a dilemma huh? We are commanded to preach the Gospel, and also commanded to not suffer a fool. Heck if I know when to cut and run. If you figure it out, let me know friend.

      7. A very timely response W – knowing when to let go.

        I guess once you’re at peace with the decision…

  1. My (very) limited study of the history of the Bible (canonization, translation, apologetics, etc) just underscores what a truly amazing piece our source document is. I am too often taking it for granted that God chose to spoke to mankind universally through our written form of communication–words.

    1. Whenever someone says the Bible is not divine, I know that person has not done even the slightest bit of study or meditation on the word.

      Even the names in the Bible are of utmost significance. We haven’t scratched the surface, but I’m always so impressed when I come across some great gems.
      The one I’m currently thinking of is the name Peleg (one of the twins) – and Scripture specifically tells us he was named at a time when the earth was divided (continents separating).

  2. No one who says that the Bible is not divine has done “even the slightest bit of study?” Not one person who has studied the Bible has concluded that it’s not divine? It’s impossible to study the Bible and then conclude that it’s not divine?

    Is this what you are saying? Have I misinterpreted your words?

    1. David, thanks for your comment.
      I’ve thought about it, and while it’s true I could have worded my sentence differently. I believe the point was understood.
      In future I’ll try to be even more mindful of how I express myself.

    2. The point was understood? Which point was that? Are we talking about the point that I was addressing or some other point? What was the point? You’ve lost me here.

  3. This was not a maze of questions. I did not want to jump to conclusions, misdirect or reword. Folks love to accuse me of doing these things, so I asked for clarification. What point was understood? No maze, just a simple question.

    But you’re gone. This tells me that that problem in all of my exchanges isn’t my alleged conversational transgressions. So it goes.

    1. David, your first comment was about 4/5 questions, your second, much the same.

      Creating a mountain out of a mole hill isn’t my thing.

      You can use your understanding of what I said and make your point.
      This is a simple conversation.

    2. Those 4 or 5 questions were all about the same thing. It was all one question. It’s not a maze at all. When you say you believe the point was understood, I simply asked which point are you talking about. One question. The mountain is something that you created.

      Without clarification, anything that I say can be dismissed as “rewording.” And that will certainly kill any possible “simple conversation.” You don’t have to clarify if you don’t want to, but there are good reasons for seeking clarification.

      1. The “understood point” being – those who say Scripture is not divine really have no knowledge of Scripture.
        Yes, they may ‘study’ the word… but they have no knowledge of it.

        Most college students ‘study’ for an exam, and 2 weeks later you wouldn’t be able to get them to explain to you what they had learnt much more what the study was really about.

      2. Ah, clarity! When you used the word “study,” you didn’t actually mean “study.” You were using the word “study” in a most unusual way.

        In fact, when a college student studies for an exam, then he or she will walk away with a greater understanding of the subject. That’s what studying does. Those who study will, in fact, understand and know more than those who don’t study.

        And they don’t even have to believe that what they are studying is true or “divine” before they can understand the subject. It’s possible to both know a subject and also conclude that something isn’t true or divine. Can you name one subject (other than the Bible) where you would say that studying the subject will yield no understanding or knowledge of the subject unless there is a prior belief that some aspect of the subject is divine.

        I admit that I should have guessed that you were going for the old “if you don’t believe it’s divine, then you have no knowledge or understanding of it” gambit. I should have seen this coming

        It’s the old bomb shelter strategy. Person A says the Bible isn’t divinely inspired … and now you can go down in your bomb shelter and it ignore anything that Person A says using the clearly inaccurate premise that Person A doesn’t “know” the Bible. It’s not accurate because the Bible is a collection of words. It’s an object composed of human language. If you can understand words and grammar, then you can know and understand the Bible. You can study the Bible. Anyone can do this.

        However, while inaccurate, the bomb shelter does a very good of protecting the believer from reality. It’s great for ignoring dissenters. And it’s a really good conversation stopper.

        If you say that the Greek myths are not divine, would you really accept it if I said that you can’t possibly know or understand the Greek myths?

Share your thoughts

