How to Have Effectual Faith

…that the communication of your faith may become effectual by the acknowledging of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus.

How profoundly simple, yet so difficult.

Most, if not all believers are familiar with the above verse from Philemon. However, I’m willing to bet the majority are not experiencing effectual faith.

Why not?

Because all the knowledge in the world is unbeneficial, if we do not apply it to our lives. Wisdom is the ability to apply knowledge to one’s life.

Now we know our faith can become effectual simply by acknowledging every good thing that Christ Jesus has done in us, to us and for us.

Who amongst us will fail the call of wisdom by refusing to apply this knowledge to our lives. What good thing has Christ done in your life? [The ability to breathe, life, health, sight, mind, the ability to read,…]

Another great start is by acknowledging and praying Psalms 103:

Bless the Lord, O my soul;
And all that is within me, bless His holy name!
Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And forget not all His benefits:
 Who forgives all my iniquities,
Who heals all my diseases,
Who redeems my life from destruction,
Who crowns me with loving kindness and tender mercies,
 Who satisfies my mouth with good things,
So that my youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

 

 

4 thoughts on “How to Have Effectual Faith”

    1. 🙂 Praise God!
      May we also remember when it “seems” there’s no good thing going on in our lives.

  1. “Wisdom is the ability to apply knowledge to one’s life.”

    Good point well said; I remember something similar in our Sunday school book as we started the study on Proverbs.

    1. Yes, it was through my study of Proverbs that I learnt this as well.
      Made a world of difference for me.
      I pray for wisdom everyday… not in the vain repetitious manner. I genuinely expect to grow in wisdom daily because I’ve asked.

      A blessed rest of the week to you.

Share your thoughts

