His Love Is Our Light

 AWMI Devotional

Jesus: When you bring a lamp into the house, do you put it under a box or stuff it under your bed? Or do you set it on top of a table or chest? Those things that are hidden are meant to be revealed, and what is concealed is meant to be brought out where its light can shine.

All who have ears to hear, let them listen.

So consider carefully the things you’re hearing. If you put it to use, you’ll be given more to wrestle with—much more. Those who have listened will receive more, but those who don’t hear will forget even the little they’ve failed to understand.    Mark 4:21-25 The Voice

 

Just as a candle or lamp is not to be hid, but rather displayed so that everyone can benefit from its light, so a Christian must let his light so shine before men that they might see his good works and glorify his Father which is in heaven. God has ordained us to go and bring forth fruit (Jn. 15:16). The great commission of the Church is to reach the world.

The early Christians experienced the love of Christ in an intimate and life-transforming way. This motivated them to reach their known world with the Gospel of Christ more than any other generation of Christians has since. They didn’t have the benefits of our modern technology, but they did have the benefit of being full of the love of Christ. Experiencing the love of Christ causes us to be filled with the fullness of God (Eph. 3:19) and makes us a witness that the world cannot resist (Jn. 13:35).

Today, much of the emphasis of the Church is placed on techniques of evangelism or spiritual warfare. We motivate people to witness through feelings of guilt or punishment if they don’t. Much of our evangelism has become as dead and non-productive as the efforts of the cults whose people knock on doors and argue others into their way of thinking. The Church today needs a revival of our personal relationship with the Lord. When we can truly say with Paul that the love of Christ constrains us, then we will impact our world for the Lord, too. We can’t give away what we don’t possess. We need to personally know the love of Christ in an experiential way before we try to share it with others. Let Him love you, and let His love flow through you to others. The world is hungry for love, real love.

16 thoughts on “His Love Is Our Light”

  1. Hello my friend. Just checking to see what’s new around here! Life must be keeping you very busy these days. I know the feeling. I just give up sleep to blog LOL.

    1. HAHA… yeah… I try to read you guys every 2 days or so…
      Thanks for checking in… hopefully, things will be less busy in a short while…

      I love your last line… I guess I love sleep too much lol…
      reality though… I give up sleep to listen to sermons…

      1. You listen to a lot of sermons don’t you? I used to do that a lot, listen to podcasts of different people. Then I started having to train people more and more instead of working alone, so sort of fell out of it.

      2. I do…I’m where you were at. [I know you’re speaking of work related training here] but you also teach/train/disciple others at church and currently I do not teach or train others as you do – which I find is one of the best and most effective ways to learn, really; (it’s like using your muscles… they’ll only get stronger/fitter). It’s reflected in your posts.

      3. That’s a really good point, using our spiritual muscles.

        May I ask why you don’t teach? You have a lot of wisdom and most churches are in dire need of those willing to teach.

        I came to teaching rather by accident actually. Well; not really buy accident, as of course God engineered and ordained it. In our work, the adult men teach other adults. Of course not all agree with that, but that is what we believe. Anyway one Sunday just a couple of years after I came to know the Lord a funny thing happened. Went to Sunday School one morning and for whatever reason, all of the men except me had been called out for work or were simply missing, including the teacher. About start time all the women began just looking at me, and I looked back. Then my wife sort of leaned forward, and said….Hey, baby, you have to teach. That was quite scary, as I was really still quite new in the faith. God had drawn me to have studied that lesson extra well that week, so I was actually prepared to share what I had learned. The rest, as they say, is history. I found that I loved it, and have never looked back.

        As always, thank you for your encouragement, it really means a lot.

      4. Oh! you’ve got a great testament, and one that has confirmed what I’ve now grown to understand – that God will give us the desires of our heart; and the things we didn’t know/think we have a desire for, it’s like He creates that desire within us.
        {Of course I’m speaking of desires that aligns with the will of God. I think sometimes, we try to straddle two lines and desire things outside of God’s will and expect Him to go along with it, speaking personally now.

        To your question. Thanks greatly. The funny thing is, I’m not a member of a church. I’ve been going to a church near me – it’s the only one in the community whose members I’ve seen ministering within the community – (visit, feed, and worship with the very poor, mentally and physically disabled who live at gov’t facility; do prison ministry (I’ve not gone on this one yet); small projects – painting police stations etc. )
        The only thing though is I don’t get the sense they have full confidence in their salvation as they’re always speaking of working to get into heaven 😦
        I’m normally in the kindergarten Bible class, and I try not to be a know-it-all and correct the teacher, so I sit and listen; as a result, I’ve only been a part of their adult class just once.

        I only stand out when I hear someone complain of being sick (this has only happened 4 times though, then I turn to them and say, “would you like me to pray for you”; and when they sing worship songs (no, I don’t sing loud like you… I just worship with both hands in the air – yes! I stand out… but that’s the reason I go… to worship God This is a huge departure from my normal character – very private to the point of prideful. God has been working on me to rid me of this self-awareness.

        The great lesson from your testament is the importance of preparation, as when the opportunity is presented, the one who is more prepared (has oil in his lamp) will have no need to leave to purchase oil.
        I’m really blessed by it.

      5. Many prayers my friend that you find a church home you will be completely comfortable in. Be careful if they are “working” their way to heaven. Don’t get caught in that trap of thinking for sure.

        I one raises their hands in my church, they get shot off LOL. I actually do now and then sort of, but they all think I am nuts anyway.

        Funny story. I teach Vacation Bible School each year. Now, we do a rotation. All teachers teach on one subject, to all of the ages rotating nights. I have never ever taught kindergarterners, so my assistant agreed she would teach them and the first graders. Due to the theme last year I was “Ranger Wally” Anyway, on the kindergarten night this past summer she taught for about 10 minutes in a 45 minute class then turned to me and said. “Well that’s all I have, what do you have Ranger Wally?” My heart almost exploded LOL. We ended up having a rather nice time. We too a hike through the church and went to the “creek” which was the water fountain. Then we came back and sat around my campsite and told Jesus stories. Scared me to death though!

        Again, praying you find a good church home where you feel comfortable becoming a member.

      6. lol.
        Ranger Wally, thanks for your prayers. I’ve been praying as well, as my desire is to be part of a group that goes out to do street/anywhere healing&/ministry.

        I no longer get bogged down by these differences in belief. I am firm in what I believe, so if someone says differently it’s for me to find out if what they’re saying is scriptural and reject it if it’s not.
        I am not worried about being indoctrinated etc. They’ll catch what I have, never the other way round :). The Greater One dwells in all believers, however He can only manifest to the extent that we’re aware of our complete identity in Him and allow Him to shine through.

        Which leads to my point on preparation. I imagine if I’m ever to speak publicly, I’d speak on identity. First, I’d say ‘hands up, those who are righteous’. This would quickly establish who knows exactly who and Whose they are.

        Many blessings and thanks for checking in, I truly appreciate it.

      7. No prob friend, Don’t work to hard. Next week I won’t be posting, as we are headed out on vacation. Will read and visit people, but just going to take a break from writing for the week.

      8. Thanks for the heads up. You guys have a fantastic and restful time [hope you won’t need a vacation after your vacation 🙂 ].

  2. This reminds me of something I read on facebook the other day:

    “The experience of God in the person of Jesus Christ is what leads to Spirit-filled expressions of praise—which is what the historic Christian Creeds are—statements like Peter’s: ‘You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.’

    When a person starts with an idea of God instead of God’s personal self-revelation, instead of a personal encounter with Jesus Christ, it’s my experience that they end up with a projection or distortion of God which leads to lies about humanity, too.” – Kenneth Tanner

    Amen. It’s God’s personal self-revelation that leads to Spirit-filled evangelism as well.

    1. Thanks Julie for sharing such a great point. I totally agree, especially with ‘having an idea of God vs having a personal revelation and relationship with Him’.
      This has been my main point when it comes to ‘discussions’ with those who label themselves ‘de-converts’. My point is and remains – there is no such thing as a de-convert/ex-Christian; one either knows God and have a personal relationship with Him, or God is/was just an idea. God cannot be both real & imagined/idea- as you know “de-converts” love to argue they once knew God but now He doesn’t exist.
      What Mr. Tanner says is so crucial here. We must start out with a personal revelation of who God is, who Christ Jesus is & never underestimate the value of establishing and maintaining a relationship with the Holy Spirit.

      1. “one either knows God and has a personal relationship with Him, or God is/was just an idea. God cannot be both real & imagined/idea”

        Exactly. Once you know Him you cannot un-know Him, any more than you can un-know your earthly father. You may fall out of contact/relationship with your father, but there is no denying he exists.

Share your thoughts

