The Importance of Teaching

Barry Bennett

And Jesus, when He came out, saw a great multitude and was moved with compassion for them, because they were like sheep not having a shepherd. So He began to teach them many things. (Mark 6:34)

People need to be taught. They need to be taught who God is, what redemption means and how to live in the kingdom. “My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.” (Hosea 4:6)

 

Compassion moved Jesus to teach. Paul was a teacher. The Holy Spirit came to teach. Jesus gave teachers to the Body of Christ. God Himself is a Teacher: “And many people shall go and say, Come ye, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, to the house of the God of Jacob; and [H]e will teach us of [H]is ways.” (Isa. 2:3) Jesus spent 40 days after His resurrection teaching the disciples of the Kingdom. (Acts 1:3)

Paul prayed that the church grow in knowledge: “The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that ye may know what is the hope of his calling, and what the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints.” (Eph. 1:18)

Paul declared that we could be transformed by the renewing of our minds! (Rom. 12:2)

Are you being taught? Are you actively learning? Are you hungry for more? Do you pray for God to reveal His truth to you? Be teachable. Sit under anointed teaching. Read authors who believe in the Word of God and the power of truth. Don’t be destroyed for lack of knowledge!

8 thoughts on “The Importance of Teaching”

    1. I agree with you. I think to be a good teacher, one has to also be a good learner i.e. realize there’s much more to know than they currently know, and must be willing to be taught.

      I like the message conveyed by this quote:
      “Stupidity mistakes itself for intelligence. Whereas intelligence knows its own stupidity.” – J. Franzen

  1. I love to get taught, but I don’t get the chance very often, as I teach adults in the morning, and young teens at night. That’s one of the reasons I have love blogging, because it’s like Sunday School every day. Lots of good teaching to be found on here.

    Might I add, much of that comes right here my friend.

    1. You’re a very busy man Mr. W. and a very gracious one at that. Thank you.
      I agree, the internet has been a means of tremendous blessings to me:
      – You might have noticed that quite a bit of my posts are adapted from others – teachers I’ve found on-line and whose messages I listen to via the “tube”.
      I listen to a lot of hrs of teaching per week; often times I’ll listen to the same teaching again and again.

      – My second area of learning is also through blogs like yours [so true, lots of good teachings to be found there. The fun memes are one of my favorites because it’s such a lol fun and gentle way to get across a sometimes serious message – it breaks the ice or breaks into our need to take offense while delivering a pointed message. And cannot gloss over the personal interactions/fellowship amongst us. It’s a blessing. As you’ve said and I agree it’s like Sunday School every day with our guards mostly down.

      I will have seek some pointers from you on time-management.

      1. You are a great encourager my friend and that is a gift. Very perceptive too. That is exactly the point of the Memes is to inject some levity into serious issues. Its for me really. I have a tendency towards extreme seriousness if I don’t actually try to loosen up. I have been told I came from the womb a curmudgeon. But without much prayer and effort I tend to be dour and grumpy.

    1. Hi Dawn!
      Thank you so much for your fellowship. I truly appreciate your perspectives here and elsewhere.
      In lieu of follow I bookmark 🙂

      A blessed rest of the week to you!

Share your thoughts

