Live Well, Live Wisely

Do you want to be counted wise, to build a reputation for wisdom? Here’s what you do: Live well, live wisely, live humbly. It’s the way you live, not the way you talk, that counts. Mean-spirited ambition isn’t wisdom. Boasting that you are wise isn’t wisdom. Twisting the truth to make yourselves sound wise isn’t wisdom. It’s the furthest thing from wisdom—it’s animal cunning, devilish conniving. Whenever you’re trying to look better than others or get the better of others, things fall apart and everyone ends up at the others’ throats.

Real wisdom, God’s wisdom, begins with a holy life and is characterized by getting along with others. It is gentle and reasonable, overflowing with mercy and blessings, not hot one day and cold the next, not two-faced. You can develop a healthy, robust community that lives right with God and enjoy its results only if you do the hard work of getting along with each other, treating each other with dignity and honor. [James 3 MSG] 

8 thoughts on “Live Well, Live Wisely”

  1. I seems that something is on your mind my friend, as your last two post have a common thread. It’s on my mind as well, and bless you for writing this. The brethren are not always kind one to another are they?

    1. A keen observer you are Mr. Wallace 🙂

      I believe we benefit everyone (not just the body of Christ) when we start taking the words we preach to others and apply them to our own lives… not just know them in our heads (giving only mental assent to them)… but allowing those words to permeate our being (live them by knowing them in our hearts)…

      We all have to start somewhere… and know that the Christian life is one of constant course correction or re-calibration if you will.
      No one gets it perfectly… so it’s for us to both correct & accept correction in humility.

      1. Well friend, I don’t get to comment as much as I would like, but I try to pay attention to what happens around here. We simply won’t all agree on all things. Heck, you and I have some pretty large differences I know. But, nonetheless you are my brothers and we are allies in this Christian life. What did Jesus say the greatest commandment was? Love God, then your neighbor. Of course we have to fight heresies tooth and nail when they appear. But fighting an incorrect teaching, even a heretical one, doesn’t mean a person is our enemy. Our job is to bring them back to truth. Then, if a person still resists truth…that’s another story. The problem is having the smarts to know when it’s time to cut and run so to speak. I have, in the past, probably erred by being too aggressive in my responses, and may have harmed in a situation where I could have helped.

      2. I agree with you 100%.

        Personally, we’re all growing and perhaps somethings we did yesterday, today we’ve learnt the truth and correct someone else.
        What I don’t like is the constant harping on a ‘done’ issue and the labelling of people as ‘false teacher’ being ‘heretical’ etc.
        Everything doesn’t have to be labelled heretical… especially when none of us ‘knows ALL truth’…

        I disagreed with another regarding total security in our salvation… however, I would never call anyone heretical for believing the opposite of what I do.

        I’m just as guilty at being harsh to people, being sarcastic etc. in my remarks… but I have been trying to make a concerted effort to live this gospel I preach.

        I’ve come to realize, it’s just not enough – and will never be enough – to just quote scriptures at people… we need to relate to people as individuals regardless of their beliefs… that’s the only way we’ll truly know & understand the heart of God for all people.

        “The river walk”has a great post: http://tworiversblog.com/2016/01/16/the-biggest-fool/
        check it out if you haven’t read it yet.

      3. That was a good post, thanks. Yes, living the Gospel we preach. That’s so important. I would only add one thing to this really. It matters where the conversation takes place to a certain extent. A person can say or teach things on their blog that I would not think of taking exception with them there. Their blog, their pulpit so to speak. On the other hand, sometimes one may have to find a loving, kind way to basically tell another to can it on one’s own blog. My blog, my pulpit so to speak. The specific issue you addressed, eternal security is exactly the one I was talking about. I wrote a post, a person disagreed. In that case, I had no choice but to defend correct doctrine until the person just decided to move along. That is rather what happened to you.

        Sometimes we have to stand. I am also responsible to the people who read this blog.

        It’s kind of hard sometimes, this Christian walk huh? Good thing our God is so much smarter than we are and kindly sent His Holy Spirit to guide us along.

      4. I agree with you… and now I see perhaps where I went wrong… (I corrected on their blog)…
        but as Christians who preach forgiveness, the fruit of the Spirit, loving your neighbor & your enemy as you love your self… love doesn’t remember wrongs… etc. etc.

        Again, isn’t it time we stop quoting Scripture and actually DO what it says…
        To U. point & what I said on CS’s blog to Prof. T the other day – ‘we quote the Scripture, believing we’re living the kingdom life… but the Scripture points to Jesus and we all but ignore Him. We love Scripture, we love to quote His commands, but we hate to keep His commands. [This is more self-reflection and observation]

      5. Actually friend, I wasn’t pointing that at you at all! Sorry if you thought that. I have actually never seen you be unreasonable at all, ever! I was just sharing my own thoughts about my own conduct.

        Now…add to the mix…there are some blogs which are more of a free for all. Heck, on those I say things loosen up a bit. Some bloggers are quite welcoming of a certain amount of contention.

        I have just found, on my own, that arguing too much with any person believer or non believer, just hinders my ability to do what I believe I have been called to do, which is reach the lost and teach the saved.

        Shame, really, because the truth is I love a good brawl.

      6. LOL… to the last line.

        Oh, no, I didn’t think you were pointing at me… and the truth is, even if you were, I wouldn’t be offended. I don’t mind being corrected, to tell you the truth… one of the things I’ve learnt is that I will continue to repeat the lesson being taught to me, until I truly learn from it, only then can I move on to a higher level… so these days, I don’t submerge myself in offense. I try to find out (not always, but many times) if there’s a lesson there for me… and try to quickly learn from it… and hopefully move forward.

Share your thoughts

