New Man, New You

Image result for free clip art - new man

“For Paul it isn’t enough just to believe the right things. Right belief always produces right living. The gift of salvation demands that we put into practice the character of our King. Just as we take off and throw away old, worn-out clothes, we must strip off certain attitudes and actions of our old selves. Since our lives have been made new in Him, things like sexual immorality, greed, anger, lies, and the rest must find no place in us. But it is not enough to strip off the old; we must put on the new. And that new creation has many qualities of Jesus: compassion, gentleness, and humility; putting up with each other, forgiving each other, and above all, loving each other. These are the ways of Jesus, so they must be our ways too.”- VOICE COMMENTARY

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. 2 Cor 5:17

Assuming that you have really heard Him and been taught by Him, as [all] Truth is in Jesus [embodied and personified in Him], Strip yourselves of your former nature [put off and discard your old unrenewed self] which characterized your previous manner of life and becomes corrupt through lusts and desires that spring from delusion;  And be constantly renewed in the spirit of your mind [having a fresh mental and spiritual attitude], Eph 4:21-23

“I have put off the old man and put on the new man which is renewed in the knowledge and after the image of Him that created me. I am delivered from the power of darkness and translated into the Kingdom of His dear Son. I am strengthened with all might according to His glorious power, [because] greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world. I have world overcoming faith! I am complete in Him!” [I am a New Man!  Praise Jesus!] Barry Bennett

8 thoughts on “New Man, New You”

    1. Hi James,
      I must confess, I do read your blog and occasionally post on it under another name. [not sure if I should insert an embarrassed smile here or not].

      God Bless you greatly, and you’re correct we have a firm and sound foundation in Him.
      Thank You.

      1. I’ve seen you commenting on Mike’s blog and “talking” to good ‘ol Akeneten.

        Questions.

        Why would a Christian minister write a lengthy blog post telling Christians they shouldn’t go to church?

        Why would he try to make a case that Christianity isn’t based on history to a a fellow believer?

        I almost hate to say it but I smell a rat.

      2. Yes, it was actually through your blog comment that I went over and decided to give a reply.
        I used to be naïve concerning theology, ministers etc. I’ve since come to know that in most universities, the professors that are teaching theology are atheists.

        I’m more inclined to agree with your comment about ‘smelling a rat’ though.
        Since today is the 15th and he was reading Proverbs 15, I deduced he probably reads through the book of Proverbs once per month. One of the things that have been a life changer for me was Proverbs 13:10 Only by pride cometh contention: but with the well advised is wisdom.
        So pride is not a source or the top source but the ONLY source of contention. Every argument, sense of feeling slighted, fight, etc. has it’s roots in pride. So I usually as much as I can try to keep that in mind, to make sure I myself am not reacting out of a sense of pride.

        Thanks for your insights, as I had no idea of the poster’s background.

  1. Proverbs 13:10 is one of my favorites and you make a great point about pride.

    As far as a Mike goes, you need to thoroughly read both his posts telling Christians they shouldn’t go to church. There is no way they were written by a sincere Christian, no possible way.

    And Arkenenten. I have talked to him, he’s banned now and never got anywhere without eventual insults and persony attacks so it’s pointless talking to him. We are required to witness but we are also told that sometimes we need to shake off the dust and move on.

    The real kicker for me here is that Mike wrote these posts then went to Ark’s blog to get his opinion. Why???

    If I were you, I would cut my losses and move on.

    James

    1. Thanks very much, and this is just confirmation for me since I was trying to figure out what was the purpose of all this. What came to mind was Ps 1:1 Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly,…
      As I started meditating on it, I decided my post today would be titled “who are you listening to”
      That’s all I had, the title and that verse, then I came just now & saw your post.

      It’s amazing how the Holy Spirit works.

      I appreciate the advice. Thanks much and great blessings!

Share your thoughts

