Identity

Image result for free identity clip artJesus asked this question of His disciples: He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am?  And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.

God the father said this of Jesus: And lo a voice from heaven, saying, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.

Jesus clearly knew who He was, and said so concisely with boldness and certainty, without equivocation for those who didn’t understand whether willfully or out of ignorance.

Then came the Jews round about him, and said unto him, How long dost thou make us to doubt? If thou be the Christ, tell us plainly.  Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father’s name, they bear witness of me.  But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you.  My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:

For the people of the world, their identity is found in their surnames, professions, possessions, achievements, knowing the so-called important people and being known by the masses.

For those of us who are in Christ, the old identity is gone and our new identity is found in Him alone, and o what a glorious identity we have in Him. With His name comes real power and authority and He has given us the power of attorney to use His name in advancing His kingdom while here on earth.

Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.

And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues.

But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.

 

That which was kept a mystery from before the foundations of the earth is now a great and wondrous reality. That the Living God of the universe would put His Holy Spirit in us so that we can be in union with Him once again is of such immense significance that there is absolutely nothing that can prevent us from living a life of victory on this earth. Can you imagine that the same Holy Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you and me. And all made possible because of who we are in Christ Jesus. Because of our identity in Him!

God is great! Blessed is everyone that reverences the name of the Lord. What a truly wise and awesome God we serve.

 

Share your thoughts

